Australian Underwater Hockey Records

Underwater Hockey Australia keeps records for National and International competitions involving Australian Underwater Hockey teams. For any updates to any of the information on these pages please contact our Records Officer (

Underwater Hockey in Australia

Australia has long and distinguished tradition in the sport of Underwater Hockey.

The first Australian Underwater Hockey Championships were held in Margaret River, Western Australia in 1975. A Women’s division was added to the championships in 1981 and a Junior division commenced in 1990.

Australia participated in the first World Championships held in Vancouver, Canada in 1980 finishing third. At the next championships (held in Brisbane in 1982) Australia made a clean sweep of both the Men’s and Women’s divisions. Since then Australia has maintained an unsurpassed level of excellence on the international stage. The Australian Men have won 10 of the 16 World Championships they have participated in and the Australian Women 9 of 16.